Liebster Award!

Thanks so much to Lynn K. Scott of The Pink Herald’s Blog for nominating New Pollyanna for the Liebster Award. I’m always surprised when anyone thinks I have something of value to say, and this was no exception.

Now I have a little bit of homework to do! There are rules to follow… I’m pretty good at following rules, so I expect this will go alright…

1. Thank and link the person who nominated you. (check)
2. Answer the questions given by the nominator.
3. Nominate 11 other bloggers, who have less than 200 followers and link them.
4. Create 11 new questions for the nominees to answer.
5. Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Here are the questions Lynn sent to me. Spoiler alert… I WILL ramble.

  1. Who is someone you admire and why?   I suppose I’m cheating if I say I try to find something to admire in everybody, but that’s where I have to start. If I’m to pick one person, I’ll say my aunt Netta. She has been to Hell and back in her life, and I’ve never known her to be bitter about any of it. If you knew her history you would say she has every right to be bitter, but she has chosen to be happy instead. When I was a kid I used to wish she was my mother, and in many ways she’s been more of a mother to me than my own ever was.
  2. What is your favorite city?  I hope I haven’t found my favorite city yet. Someday I want to escape this ugly town I live in, and relocate to someplace with history, and archetecture, and charm. But of the cities I know, I’ll say Pittsburgh is my favorite. It has everything I love in a city… beautiful buildings, a colorful past, green spaces, traditions. It has its own unique culture and language. It has neighborhoods that are still distinct neighborhoods. I’m not a sports fan, but I can appreciate sports fans, and Pittsburgh has the best. It has the best fireworks shows ever. It’s the birthplace of more wonderful things than I can even begin to name, and it’s Mr. Rogers’ actual neighborhood!
  3. What did you want to be when you grew up and are you doing that now?  A few years ago I read an article that made this claim: people who do what they wanted to do as a child are happier than people who are doing something else. I read that, and thought, “well, I’m screwed”. I remember, very clearly, being asked that question as a youngster. I remember it because it was uncomfortable for me. I would always say, “I don’t know”, which was the truth! I had no idea what I wanted to be. Grown-ups didn’t like that answer though, so they would insist I come up with something, Finally I got wise, and realized you don’t have to tell the truth when someone asks you that question. I made up something that sounded plausible… maybe I said I wanted to be a teacher… something that no one could object to from a little girl. I remember coming up with the lie, but I can’t recall what the lie was… isn’t that always the way with lies? Later, in high school. I changed my go-to answer from something acceptible to something less acceptible… I said I wanted to be a plumber (it got the desired reaction). I’m not a teacher now, and I’m not a plumber. I STILL don’t really know what I want to be when I grow up.
  4. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?  London. I’ve never been there, but if I had the wherewithal I would move there right now, with Grumpy, Nebby and the cat in tow. I fell in love with it in books. Here’s a confession that I’m a bit ashamed of… when I read a line like, “they took a house in Queen Anne Street” I immediately go to Google Streetview and look it up. I take a virtual drive the entire length of the street I’m reading about, and pick out a house that I think might be the one. People who live in London could ACTUALLY GO THERE! How amazing would THAT be?
  5. Name three things you find admiral in a person. Honesty, humor, intelligence.
  6. What is your favorite thing to write about? I’m not creative… I can only write about two things: my opinions and my experiences. My favorites are the funny experiences.
  7. What do you find inspirational? In terms of writing? Hunter S. Thompson. I used to find Dorothy Parker to be inspirational… I don’t know what I was thinking there. Tons of others, but I’m drawing a blank right now.
  8. What was the last random act of kindness you did? Oh, wow… that’s a tough one. I don’t ever set out to do a random act of kindness, or at least I don’t think of it in those terms. Many years ago I decided that it was the duty of every human being to do everything he or she could do for others if the cost to him or her was less than the benefit to someone else. Of course I don’t live up to that standard, but I try to remember to try to do it. I think it’s absolutely essential to do what you can for others when it costs you nothing. Being polite, smiling at someone, opening a door for a mom juggling two babies, letting someone with one item go ahead of you in the store… all absolutely free, and any of those things could be the difference between a good day or a bad day to another person. As I was writing this answer I remembered my last random act of kindness… I stayed and chatted with a clerk in the grocery store this morning because she seemed like she needed to spend some time talking to someone. I really wanted to go home and go to sleep, and we weren’t talking about anything important, but she seemed to need a friend for a little while.
  9. Past or present, if you could meet one person, who would it be and why? Willie Nelson. Because he’s Willie f’n Nelson! But I don’t just want to meet him. I want to hang out with him.
  10. If you could have one “do-over” in life, what would it be? There was a time about 15 years ago when I was sexually harrassed by a VP at a company I worked for. I don’t think I handled it badly… I think I did what you’re supposed to do… but it didn’t work out in my favor. If I could do it over I think I’d skip telling anyone in the company, and instead I’d go straight to his wife. It probably wouldn’t work in my favor either, but at least SHE would have a chance to wring some justice out of him!
  11. Were you surprised to receive this nomination? Floored.

My nominees, in alphabetical order…

And some questions for the nominees. I’m keeping them simple, so please feel free to elaborate as you like.

1. What’s your favorite cartoon?

2. Do you prefer reading/writing fiction or non-fiction?

3. Do you have pets?

4. What are you currently trying to change in your life?

5. What was your first car?

6. What was your favorite class in school?

7. Name 5 movies I should watch.

8. How do you typically celebrate your birthday?

9. Which of the 3 stooges do you most closely resemble?

10. What is your favorite late-night snack?

11. Tell us a joke you could tell to a 5-year-old.

And that (aside from notifying some people) concludes my homework.  I hope my nominees will find their homework to be as pleasant as mine, Thanks again to Lynn!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. I visited Pittsburgh a few years back and found it absolutely beautiful! When I tell people that’s the only place I’ve been in Penn they always give a terrible look of disgust which follows with a “gross”. Well I thought it was pretty…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What did you want to be when you grew up?” – A.S. Neill, headmaster of the freedom school, Summerhill, in Leicester, England, who wrote, “SUMMERHILL: a radical approach to child rearing,” wrote that he liked to see a man (woman?) of 50 who hadn’t quite yet decided what he wanted to do in life. I’d say you’re right on schedule.

    My own answer? A child.

    If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?” – in a villa directly across the street from the ocean in a sleepy little village in Mexico, where I could sit on my balcony in the evening, sipping a rum and coke while watching the sun set, and hear the sizzle as it sinks into the sea.

    Oh, wait – I already did that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for reading my blog — and thinking of me for this! I decided at one point not to participate in blogging awards (I’ve got a MASSIVE backlog of posts already simmering in my backbrain, so I try to keep my writing efforts focused there!), but I did feel this warranted some attention! So, a few answers to your questions:

    #8) I celebrate my birthday in good blogger-style: virtually! It’s in October — please consider yourself the first invitee to this year’s totally-exclusive, only-awesome-people-get-in-this-door event!

    (To explain, here’s how it went down last year: http://coffeeandablankpage.com/2014/10/06/best-birthday-party-ever/)

    #11) Q: Why is 6 afraid of 7? A: BECAUSE 7 8 9 !!!

    Appropriate for a 5 yo? Yes, of course. I will now confess that this is a favorite joke of my brother’s and mine (now both in our 40s) — and we didn’t start telling it until we were at least in our teens. Though, to be fair, we sometimes tell each other this (more-adult-sophisticated) version:

    Like

What do you think?

