Happy Uncomfortable Conversations with Strangers Day!

Mothers: ya gotta love ’em… especially today…whether you like it or not.

I don’t begrudge anyone their day, but I can’t be the only one who just wants to disappear on Mother’s Day. It wasn’t always like this. When I was young this wasn’t an issue, but at some point strangers began assuming I have kids. I don’t. So every year, I have conversations like this, with people I don’t know…

person: Did your kids take you out for Mother’s Day?

me: I don’t have kids

person: oh….well…. you have a mother!

me: she’s dead

person: cat?

It isn’t just on Mother’s Day that I feel judged or pitied for not having kids, but this is the one day of the year when I can count on it happening…all day long.

When I woke up today, this was on my Facebook timeline, courtesy of someone who loves me:

What a wonderful thing to wake up to on a day when I was expecting nothing but awkwardness and a desperate wish that it was tomorrow. A thoughtful gesture, a nice compliment, and a hilarious joke, all wrapped into one. I encourage you to steal this meme if you have a friend who could use a smile. I guarantee it works.

5 thoughts on “Happy Uncomfortable Conversations with Strangers Day!

  1. Happy Non-Mother’s Day and Happy National Good Looking Person Day. What a combination. Half the world want to be you and the other half want to marry you. Or maybe half want you to babysit and the other half want to bonk you. Nicely played. You have plenty of options.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I was just commenting to The Mister this morning, that even I, as a mother, am sick of reading posts like, “Without my kids, my life would be so empty!” or “My kids are my everything!” and maybe the worst one, “I live for my kids!”
    I love my kids, and I love my mother, and these things are good, but I think it’s preposterous to assume that without children, life would have no purpose or joy. I had purpose and joy before I had kids.
    I dunno, it always rubs me wrong. Same with people in competitions who are like, “I just wanna show my kids” or “I’m doing it for my kids.” I realize my opinion is an unpopular one, but that’s how I feel. It’s weird.
    Annnd, I think Mother’s Day is very sad for those who wait for babies and those whose mothers have gone. There’s no way around it.
    Happy Gorgeous People Day! 😛

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Happy Gorgeous People Day indeed! I don’t ever wish someone Mothers/fathers day unless I know they have kids and that those kids didn’t turn out to be ax-murderers. There’s enough awkward moments in life, I don’t need to cause more of them.

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think?

