The signs are everywhere

When I woke up today, I found two posts on my long distance, online, pretend boyfriend’s Facebook page. The first was a link to the Pearl Jam song, Better Man. I decided to read through the rest of his page before I made any comments.

The next post was a story about a man who got arrested for chasing a bear. It included this bit of wisdom: Getting drunk and chasing bears through the woods with a dull hatchet is “strongly not advised.”

At first, the advice about the bear seemed unnecessary. If you’re drunk enough and foolish enough to chase a bear with a hatchet, you’re not going to listen to anybody anyway. But then I realized, this was more than it appeared to be. This wasn’t just a story about a drunk and a bear. This was a sign. This was The Powers that Be warning me, “don’t comment about the Pearl Jam song!”.

5 thoughts on “The signs are everywhere

  1. Getting drunk and chasing bears through the woods with a dull hatchet is ‘strongly not advised.’” – But it is certainly preferable to having a drunk bear chase YOU through the woods, with or without a dull hatchet! And drunk or not, always remember, if you and a friend are being chased through the woods by a bear, you don’t have to outrun the bear, you only have to outrun your friend —

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Y’know, anytime I think I’m dispensing wisdom the person I’m dispensing it to takes the advise in the same manner as a drunk. Which, now that I think about it, probably just means my wisdom isn’t as valuable as the pearls I think they are.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

